Watermelon cake

_I5A2165

With all of this hot weather we have been having sometimes a good old fruit salad is what you really need for dessert. Of course there needs to be cream, and it goes without saying that no bog standard fruit salad with glace cherries would do in Lucy’s Kitchen. So when I saw this recipe from Tesco, once again on Twitter, I just had to give it a try.

The cooking

_I5A2143

Technically, there isn’t any cooking, making this a great for hot summer days when the last thing you want to do is make the house even warmer by turning on the oven.

I took one watermelon and cut the top and bottom off to make two flat surfaces. I then took the rest of the skin off the melon and carved it into a cylinder shape just like a cake.

_I5A2145

It then went into the fridge to chill.

In the meantime I whipped 600ml of cream (I apologise that it wasn’t Jersey cream but I have to say that I find the local stuff very difficult to work with, particularly in the Kitchen Aid) with 100g of icing sugar until thick but spreadable.

The melon then came out of the fridge and was patted dry with kitchen towels.

_I5A2149

Next the cream was spread all over the ‘cake’ just like it was icing. I found that I had way too much for the size of my melon and the more I tried to slap on the harder it was to get a smooth finish. In the end my cream still ended up a bit lumpy (I think I had worked it a bit too much). So I used what cream I could on the melon and saved the rest to serve on the side later.

_I5A2150

I then garnished the top of the ‘cake’ with fruit, in this case strawberries, cherries and blueberries, and sprinkled on some toasted flaked almonds and desiccated coconut to finish.

_I5A2156

_I5A2158

The eating

_I5A2187

It looked just like a cake from the outside and was served up exactly like a cake, in slices. And the result was like a really posh fruit salad and cream. I love watermelon anyway and you can’t go wrong with sweetened cream. But the best bit was the added texture and flavour from the nuts and coconut which although there wasn’t much of them their addition was just enough.

I’d also recommend adding an extra big blog of the cream too if you have any left over because, well, why not! Without it, however, you could even call this a healthy ‘cake’. And it looks pretty impressive too if you are trying to show off to your mates.

The ratings

Yumminess: 9/10 – not much to dislike

Faffiness: 4/10 – only a test of your watermelon carving skills

Mr S’s verdict: 7/10 – surprisingly tasty and really nice textures

Leave a Reply

